Sgt. Lawrence Brown served from 1980-1983 in the U.S. Army and is Bergen County’s Veteran of the Month for February!

During his service, Lawrence was stationed in Ft. Worth, Texas, where he acted as a multi-channel communications equipment operator (31M MOS). Afterwards, from 1983 to 1989, Lawrence was stationed as a reservist at Floyd Bennett Field in Brooklyn, New York.

During his time in the army, he was awarded an ARCOM Medal less than two weeks after his initial assignment as a 31M MOS. 

In the reserves, he attained the rank of Sergeant after 3 years. He was also the reenlistment NCO at the station in Brooklyn as well.

After his discharge, he went on to work in law firms, and from there he got his CDL and became a bus driver. He currently resides within Emerson Veteran Supportive Housing provided by the Housing Authority of Bergen County.

We thank him for his service to our nation!

Nominate a Veteran for #BergenCountyVeteranOfTheMonth

Do you want to light up the face of a special Veteran? Have you been wondering how to tell your Veteran they are special to you?

The #BergenCountyVeteranOfTheMonth social media feature is an opportunity to highlight your Veteran and his/her service.

It’s easy to nominate a Veteran. Visit our blog post about nominating to learn how to create the best submission.

Bergen County Division of Veteran Services

The Division of Veterans Services was established in 1977 to provide resident veterans and their dependents with information and assistance in obtaining earned entitlements from federal, state, and local governments, as well as any that are available from the private sector.

Through a quarterly newsletter and direct client contact, the division provides Bergen’s veterans organizations and their auxiliaries and individual residents with up-to-date benefit information.

Picture of Commissioner Steve Tanelli

Commissioner Steve Tanelli

Steven A. Tanelli was elected to the Bergen County Board of Commissioners on November 6, 2012. Commissioner Tanelli served as Chairman in 2016 and 2021, Vice Chairman in 2015, and Chair Pro Tempore in 2020.

Related Posts